Pedagogical Fellows

Pedagogical Fellows are a group of productive apprentice scholars who also have a keen interest in providing superlative instruction in their roles as Teaching Assistants.

Fellows are selected through a competitive process based on their teaching evaluations, letters of recommendation, and demonstrated interest in pedagogy. They commit to additional course work and other training in order to learn more about pedagogy in higher education, educational trends, and how to better prepare for the academic job market. They also provide an important service to the academic community by designing and implementing discipline-specific training for the new TAs in their departments and Schools.

With their value-added skills, experience, and increased self-confidence, the Pedagogical Fellows have been successful securing the kinds of professorial and other professional positions in which they are interested.

2017 Pedagogical Fellows:

IMG_5672Jordan Balaban
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
jbalaban@uci.edu
IMG_5604Galia Bar-Sever
Cognitive Science
gbarseve@uci.edu
IMG_5601Alex Bower
Cognitive Science
ahbower@uci.edu
IMG_5646 (2)Taiji Chen
Math
taijic@uci.edu
IMG_5671Tera Dornfeld
Planning, Policy & Design
tdornfel@uci.edu
Diego Fernandez
Spanish & Portuguese
defernan@uci.edu
IMG_5598 (4)Ethan Galebach
Logic & Philosophy of Science
jgalebac@uci.edu
IMG_5677Yasamine Ghorbanian
Molecular Bio. & Biochemistry
yghorban@uci.edu
IMG_5683 (2)Georgia Halkia
Public Health
ghalkia@uci.edu
IMG_5610Tien Thuy Ho
Education
tienth@uci.edu
IMG_5608Vanessa Kauffman
Sociology
vkauff@uci.edu
IMG_5640 (2)Kameran Kolahi
Math
krkolahi@math.uci.edu
IMG_5583Henry Lem
East Asian Languages
hlem1@uci.edu
unnamedAmy Magnus
Criminology, Law & Society
amagnus@uci.edu
IMG_5585 (4)Michael Mahoney
English
mmmahone@uci.edu
IMG_5630 (2)Adam Maley
Chemistry
amaley@uci.edu
IMG_5599Mary Anne Mendoza
Political Science
msmendoz@uci.edu
IMG_5668Kaitlyn Alvarez Noli
Planning Policy Design
knoli@uci.edu
IMG_5572Ali Olomi
History
aolomi@uci.edu
IMG_5589 (4)Miranda Pfeiffer
Studio Arts
pfeiffem@uci.edu
IMG_5606Nicole Shortt
Sociology
nshortt@uci.edu
IMG_5592 (4)Aubrey Slaughter
Informatics
slaughtr@uci.edu
IMG_5635Zachary Thammavongsky
Chemistry
zthammav@uci.edu
IMG_5633Yilin Wang
Chemistry
yilinw4@uci.edu
Michael WoodMichael Wood
Earth Systems Science
mhwood@uci.edu

2016 Pedagogical Fellows:

Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences
Emily Abbott (2)Emily Abbott
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
abbotte@uci.edu
Dail Chapman (2)Dail Chapman
Developmental and Cell Biology
dailc@uci.edu
Heather Karner (2)Heather Karner
Developmental and Cellular Biology
heatherg@uci.edu
Matthew Mahavongtrakul (2)Matthew Mahavongtrakul
Neurobiology and Behavior
mmahavon@uci.edu
Julia Overman (2)Julia Overman
Neurobiology and Behavior
overmanj@uci.edu
Kerianne Wilson (2)Kerianne Wilson
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
kkmurphy@uci.edu
Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Amir Saeidi (2)Amir Saeidi
Chemical Engineering and Material Sciences
saeidis@uci.edu
Education
Grace Lin (2)Grace Lin
PhD in Mathematics Education
gracecl@uci.edu
Humanities
Christopher Bobier (2)Christopher Bobier
Philosophy + Logic and Philosophy of Science
cbobier@uci.edu
Laurie Dickmeyer (2)Laurie Dickmeyer
History + Classics
laurie.dickmeyer@uci.edu
Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences
IMG_8257 (2)Nikki Crenshaw
Informatics
crenshan@uci.edu
Paul Merage School of Business
Duygu Akdevelioglu (2)Duygu Akdevelioglu
Marketing
dakdevel@uci.edu
Physical Sciences
Timmy Ma (2)Timmy Ma
Mathematics
timmym@math.uci.edu
Eric Novitski (2)Eric Novitsky
Chemistry
enovitsk@uci.edu
Social Ecology
Peter Hanink (2)Peter Hanink
Criminology, Law & Society
phanink@uci.edu
Emily Urban (2)Emily Urban
Psychology and Social Behavior
eurban@uci.edu
Social Sciences
Peter BeattiePeter Beattie
Political Science
pbeattie@uci.edu
Jason Palmer (2)Jason Palmer
Anthropology
palmerjc@uci.edu
Tyson Patros (2)Tyson Patros
Sociology
tpatros@uci.edu
Mikaela Smith (2)Mikaela Smith
Sociology
mikaelhs@uci.edu
Christopher Stoughton (2)Christopher Stoughton
Political Science
cstought@uci.edu
Mindy Tauberg (2)Mindy Tauberg
Anthropology
mtauberg@uci.edu

2015 Pedagogical Fellows:

Claire Trevor School of the Arts
KatieTurnerSmallKatie Turner
Drama
lbrost@uci.edu
Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences
MinhanDinhSmallMinhan Dinh
Neurobiology & Behavior
mldinh@uci.edu
ManuelRamirezSmallManuel Ramirez
Developmental and Cell Biology
muramire@uci.edu
AndreWhiteSmallAndre White
Neurobiology and Behavior
aowhite@uci.edu
Henry Samueli School of Engineering
DominiqueIngatoSmallDominique Ingato
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
dingato@uci.edu
Education
BrandyJennerSmallBrandy Jenner
Educational Policy & Social Context
bjenner@uci.edu
Humanities
AnalauraBrophySmallAnalaura Brophy
Spanish and Portuguese
brophya@uci.edu
SimonaCapisaniSmallSimona Capisani
Philosophy
scapisan@uci.edu
AndreaMilneSmallAndrea Milne
History
milnea@uci.edu
JamieRootsSmallJaime Roots
European Languages and Studies
jaimew@uci.edu
MarySchmittSmallMary Schmitt
Visual Studies
mcschmit@uci.edu
Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences
AnkitaRaturiSmallAnkita Raturi
Informatics-Software Engineering
araturi@uci.edu
Nursing
MichelleChanSmallMichelle Ka Yun Chan
Program in Nursing Science
m.chan@uci.edu
Physical Sciences
KristineArqueroSmallKristine Arquero
Chemistry
karquero@uci.edu
GregorySurynSmallGregory Suryn
Chemistry
gsuryn@uci.edu
Social Ecology
CaitlinCavanaghSmallCaitlin Cavanagh
Psychology and Social Behavior
ccavanag@uci.edu

Soon to be Asst. Prof., Michigan State University
JanicePhungSmallJanice Phung
Psychology and Social Behavior
jnphung@uci.edu
Social Sciences
MariamAshtianiSmallMariam Ashtiani
Sociology
mashtian@uci.edu

Soon to be Asst. Prof.,
California State University, Fullerton
SusanDuncanSmallSusan Duncan
Cognitive Sciences
duncane@uci.edu
JessicaKizerSmallJessica Kizer
Sociology
jkizer@uci.edu
RyanSauchelliSmallRyan Sauchelli
Political Science
rsauchel@uci.edu